Book by Book: My February 2018 Reads


February was a short month and also vacation month for me, so I didn't set high hopes for a huge list of finished books, and I'm glad for that! I only finished 5 full length books this month (but 5 kids books too-- see those at the bottom of this post!) and I don't feel a single bit guilty about that. I'm absolutely LOVING my focus on books by women and people of color still, even if this month had almost all books by white women. It's been really fun to mix up what I'm reading, to sprinkle in fun children's books, and to keep things interesting in my reading life.

(ps-- there are Amazon affiliate links here, to make it easy for you to shop if any books catch your eye! thanks so much!)

As a reminder, if you wrote ANY kind of bookish blog post this month, link up with Kristin and I below, and you'll get connected with a BUNCH of other book bloggers! So fun.

Here's what I read in February:


2336C06A-8B6B-43BE-85CC-E490E7A4C01D 2.JPG

The Dream of You: Let Go of Broken Identities and Live the Life You Were Made For by Jo Saxton


MY REVIEW: I loved every word of this book. It’s been a while since I’ve truly wanted to savor a book and not just fly through it, but this one was one to read slowly and soak up. It was absolutely the book I needed to read in this season, and I’m so grateful for Jo's heart and wisdom and love in this book. The way she wrote the letters that opened each chapter, the way she brought stories from Scripture to life in fresh ways, the way she shared her own story... all beautiful and deeply meaningful to me. All the love for this one.


THANKS TO: Blogging for Books!


Using the Enneagram in Prayer: A Contemplative Guide by Suzanne Zuercher


MY REVIEW: This book is awesome — a short bt mighty dive into how to use the enneagram in prayer— and I highly recommend it to anyone who already loves this tool and wants to take it further in their faith life. It’s not a good one to grab if you’re new to the enneagram, but it’s great if you already have a basic understanding and want to look at things from a new angle. I underlined SO MUCH. Even though it goes through the triads instead if individual types, it was SO spot on for me (type 1 through and through!) and was really eye opening. Loved this one.

MY RECOMMENDATION: Anyone who has a thorough understanding of the Enneagram and wants to marry it with their faith.


Girl, Wash Your Face: Stop Believing the Lies about Who You Are So You Can Become Who You Were Meant to Be by Rachel Hollis


MY REVIEW: This book wasn’t one I probably would have grabbed were it not for a bunch of rave reviews online (the cover just didn’t seem to scream at me personally!) but I ended up really enjoying it! She is totally real and unfiltered and funny in this one, and the way she took each chapter to tackle a lie she had been believing made this book one that covers a lot of ground and will resonate with a lot of women. Plus, she really GOES THERE. Like, #nofilter goes there (especially about sex!) and isn’t afraid to give you the kick in the pants and the reality check you might just need.

MY RECOMMENDATION: Fans of Jen Hatmaker and Glennon Doyle would like this one!

THANKS TO: the publisher for sending this one to us at work!


Daring to Hope: Finding God's Goodness in the Broken and the Beautiful by Katie Davis Majors


MY REVIEW: Oh, this book. Heart wrenching and hopeful and beautiful and brave and full of all the good, hard things that come with a life lived in total obedience to God. I loved @katieinuganda_’s first book back when I read it (in high school? College?) and this one was no different. These words are a gift to the world and I’m grateful she shared them.

MY RECOMMENDATION: Anyone who has a heart for missions, wants to better love the least of these, has a desire to change the world, or just wants to read a beautiful memoir about an incredible woman.


Here Am I, Lord... Send Somebody Else: How God Uses Ordinary People to Do Extraordinary Things by Jill Briscoe


MY REVIEW: I first heard Jill Briscoe speak at IF:Gathering 2017, and I instantly fell in love with her. She's a brilliant, witty, wise, and passionate woman of God, and that same spirit shines through this book. I did miss hearing her British accent as I read this one, but I imagined it which kind of helped. 😊 This book focuses on the first few books of the Old Testament, and I'm glad I recently read them all so I had as solid context for this book. (If you aren't familiar with the OT, you'll be a little lost reading this one! I recommend reading it either alongside a reading of the OT, or right after reading through it, so you're familiar with the characters and storylines.) I loved the theme of this one and how Jill carried the "Here am I, Lord, send ___" idea throughout. This one didn't completely wow me, and I think I prefer listening to Jill speak, but I enjoyed it and found it encouraging and uplifting!

MY RECOMMENDATION: Anyone looking for a companion read for their study of the Old Testament.

THANKS TO: BookLook Bloggers!


The Witch of Blackbird Pond by Elizabeth George Speare


MY REVIEW: I remember loving this one as a kid, but rereading it this month felt like I was diving into a brand new book— i didn’t remember the plot at all! It held up, though, and I enjoyed it all over again.

MY RECOMMENDATION: It’s a great one for middle grade readers who love strong female characters and a dash of history, too!

Kid Lit:

(Because it's my new favorite thing to check out children's books every time I go to the library, inspired by my friend Hannah!)



Add your links here if you blogged about books this month-- and be sure to browse around the other links and find new bookish friends! For bonus points, challenge yourself with one of the reading prompts below!



To enter to win An American Marriage, comment on this blog post and tell me the name of one book you LOVE that was written by a woman! (After all, it IS Women's History Month!) I'll pick a winner on Friday, March 9 -- check back then to see if you won!